ICC Test and ODI Teams of the Year declared: Virat Kohli declared ‘Cricketer of the year’

ICC Test and ODI team of the year is declared and the squads in both the formats look menacing

ICC declared awards on Thursday alongside it also declared the ICC ODI playing XI, including the three Indian players-Rohit Sharma, Jaspreet Bumrah with Virat Kohli leading the side as the captain.

While, in the longer format, the three Indian players who made it to the ICC Test playing XI is led by Virat Kohli along with Cheteshwar Pujara and Ravichandran Ashwin.


Indian Captain Virat Kohli might be having an unpleasant time in South Africa but the recent news of him being declared as Sir Garfield Sobers ‘ICC Cricketer of the year’ as well as ICC ODI cricketer of the year has brought something for the young skipper to cheer about.

The year 2017, turned out to be the most memorable one for the Indian skipper as he amassed 2203 runs in Test Matches with 8 centuries and with an average of 77.80 along with that he has smashed 1818 runs in ODIs with an average of 82.63 including 7 centuries.  In T20s, with a strike rate of 153 he has scored 299 runs.

ICC tweeted that at the age of 29; Virat has already scored 32 ODI centuries and has his hero Sachin Tendulkar’s all-time record of 49 well and truly in his sights.

While, ICC was in all praise for the 29-year old cricketer’s achievements, and added that, the Indian captain can surpass the Master Blaster if keeps on scoring runs in the same way as in the year 2017.

After winning the ICC awards, Virat Kohli created a video message for his fans in which said that it was an honor for him to grab the ICC Cricketer of the year award.

Prior to this, Virat Kohli has also been declared ODI Cricketer of the year award in the year 2012.

While Virat Kohli is the only Indian cricketer after MS Dhoni to be named the captain of ICC Test and ODI playing Xl of the year.

Check out the latest cricket updates, over here

About Manish Sharma

Of course! A writer. Check out my latest blogs here. Would love to hear your opinions and reviews in the comment box below.
View all posts by Manish Sharma →