Luka Modric Ends The The Era Of Ronaldo And Messi Earns The Best FIFA Football Awards 2018

Croatian football captain Luka Modric did what none could ever do, beating Juventus star Cristiano Ronaldo and Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah as he was recently named the world’s best male player at the Best Fifa Football Awards in London.

Well, Modric who have won the World Cup Golden Ball in July and the UEFA Men’s Player of the Year Award in August recently collected Fifa’s The Best trophy on Monday night.

After spending4  seasons as a Tottenham player moved to Real Madrid in 2012 and won the prestigious prize with  29.05% of the vote.

Meanwhile, Ronaldo finished 2nd with 19.08% while Messi was in the 5th place with 9.81%. Further, Salah who won the Puskas prize for the best goal of the year came 3rd with 11.23%.

ALSO READ: Messi Becomes The 1st Player To Score His 8th Hat-trick Leads Barcelona To A 4-0 Win Over PSV

Eden Hazard (5.65%) of Chelsea,  Manchester City’s Kevin De Bruyne (3.54%) and Tottenham’s Harry Kane (0.98%) ended 7th, 8th, and 10th respectively.

After receiving the award, Modric said, “This award shows that we all can become the best with hard work, dedication and belief,”

“All dreams can come true,”  he added.

Born in 1985, Modric’s journey to the top has been remarkable. A shepherd’s son, Modric was sent to hone his talents in the Bosnian league as a teenager.

On the other hand, Lionel Messi has been punished for a ‘not so good’ World Cup with Argentina along with an average Champions League campaign in Barcelona.

French professional footballer Kylian Mbappe is a 4th with 10.52%, Antoine Griezmann is at 6th with  6.69% while Raphael Varane is at 9th with  3.45%.

Interestingly, the whole night belonged to Modric and he said,  “I feel so much happiness. I have worked so hard to be where I am today. It has been the best season of my career. It’s an unforgettable year.”

Check out top 10 FIFA Best players 2018:

1. Luka Modric

2. Cristiano Ronaldo

3. Mohamed Salah

4. Kylian Mbappe

5. Lionel Messi

6. Antoine Griezmann

7. Eden Hazard

8. Kevin De Bruyne

9. Raphael Varane

10. Harry Kane

Meanwhile, both Messi and Ronaldo decided to stay away from the event. According to reports, Messi was absent due to personal reasons, Ronaldo chose not to attend the ceremony after coming to know that he had missed out an award.

With this Modric ends Ronaldo and Messi’s dominance in world football.

Get the latest sports news, Like Ganatunes on Facebook or follow us on Twitter for more  updates 

, , ,

About Manish Sharma

Of course! A writer. Check out my latest blogs here. Would love to hear your opinions and reviews in the comment box below.
View all posts by Manish Sharma →