It Was Fantastic To Watch The Ladies In Action At Wankhede, Do You Know The Result Of The First Ever Women’s IPL Match Played Yesterday?

As everyone was waiting for the First Qualifier between Sunrisers Hyderabad(SRH) vs Chennai Super Kings(CSK) today on May 22. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) took the opportunity of promoting women cricketers by organizing IPL women’s T20 Challenge Match at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

As we all know Indian women cricket team had become immensely popular in all over the country as the national team created a historical moment after entering the finals of the World Cup last year. Well, BCCI decided to provide the women’s cricket a perfect platform alongside Indian Premier League to host the T20 Challenge.

The Twenty20 exhibition match featured  26 players that included 10 international stars from Australia, England, and New Zealand. Well, this T20 match is a perfect way to start the women’s Indian Premier League(IPL) in the coming future.

 Meanwhile, the two teams – IPL Trailblazers and IPL Supernovas captained by India duo Smriti Mandhana and Harmanpreet Kaur respectively played a thrilling game which went to the last ball at Wankhede Stadium.

The toss was won by IPL Supernovas who decided to decided to field first. Batting first, IPL Trailblazers made 129-6 from their 20 overs while New Zealand skipper Suzie Bates was the top-scorer with 32 runs also Australian pacers Megan Schutt and Ellyse Perry picked up 2 wickets.

In the 2nd Innings, India skipper Mithali Raj and swashbuckling England opener Danni Wyatt had a strong partnership of 47 runs in the first 6 overs.

Unfortunately, IPL Supernovas kept on losing wickets after the dismissal of Raj. During the end, Ellyse Perry equaled the scores with a single in the second last delivery. In the last ball,  Pooja Vastrakar goes for a hoick, gets it off a thick inside edge and clears Goswami at short mid-wicket to take the all-important single to win the match by 2 wickets.

Check out the video in which IPL Trailblazers players enjoy the victory over IPL Supernovas. Indeed, it was an interesting match to watch.

ALSO READ: From Lungi Ngidi To Andrew Tye: 10 Bowlers Who Surprised Us With Their Amazing Bowling Spells in IPL 2018

Thanking BCCI on Twitter, Perry wrote, “That was one brilliant experience. The ten of us internationals certainly feel fortunate to have had the opportunity to play at Wankhede Stadium today alongside the best players in India. Fingers crossed it’s the first of many women’s IPL matches! Thanks @BCCI.”

Check out the squad who participated in IPL in Women’s T20 Challenge Match:

IPL Trailblazers: Smriti Mandhana (Captain), Alyssa Healy (wk), Suzie Bates, Deepti Sharma, Beth Mooney, Jemimah Rodrigues, Danielle Hazell, Shikha Pandey, Lea Tahuhu, Jhulan Goswami, Ekta Bisht, Poonam Yadav, Dayalan Hemalatha.

IPL Supernovas: Harmanpreet Kaur (Captain), Danielle Wyatt, Mithali Raj, Meg Lanning, Sophie Devine, Ellyse Perry, Veda Krishnamurthy, Mona Meshram, Pooja Vastrakar, Megan Schutt, Rajseshwari Gayakwad, Anuja Patil, Taniya Bhatia (wicket-keeper).

Meanwhile, Australia’s Women’s Big Bash League and England’s Super League are popular, While the idea of organizing Women’s T20 Challenge Match erupted after they reached the finals in the last Women’s World Cup final at Lords.

Do you support this great move by BCCI and want more Women’s T20 Challenge Match to be played in future?

, , , ,

About Manish Sharma

Of course! A writer. Check out my latest blogs here. Would love to hear your opinions and reviews in the comment box below.
View all posts by Manish Sharma →