EXCLUSIVE: Sridevi Wins Best Actress, Rajkummar Rao’s Newton, AR Rahman Among others take Honours in 65th National Film Awards

Today is a special day for Indian actors, musicians, actors, directors and other artists as today was the announcement of the 65th National Film Awards which was held at PIB Conference Room, Shastri Bhawan in New Delhi.

While regional films dominated at the Awards ceremony, Bollywood films like Mom and Newton were also honoured,

Veteran actress Sridevi, who passed away in February 2018 was named Best Actress for her exceptional performance in the film Mom which was released in 2017.

While Rajkummar Rao’s comedy-drama Newton which has dominated in Filmfare Awards, Asian Film Awards was declared the best Hindi feature film at the 65th National Film Awards. The movie Newton revolves around a young government clerk, and his struggles when he is sent on election duty to a Maoist-controlled town

Further, AR Rahman won the award for Best Music Director for Tamil movie Katru Velidayi and Best Background Score for Sridevi’s MOM.

Meanwhile, SS Rajamouli’s Baahubali: The Conclusion starring, Prabhas, Anushka Shetty, Tamanaah,  and Rana Daggubati surprised everyone by winning 3 awards including best action-direction, Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment, and best special effects.

While the award winners are announced, the award ceremony for the 65th National Film Awards will be held on May 3, 2018.

Take a look at the 65th National Awards Ceremony:

Meanwhile, Check out the list of winners of 65th National Film Awards:

Feature Films:

Best Regional Films Special Mention:

Marathi – Murkhya, Yash Raj Kharade
Odiya – Hello Aarsee

Malayalam – Take Off

Pankaj Tripathi in Newton

Best Regional Films:

Ladakh – Walking With The Wind
Lakshadweep – Sinjar
Tulu – Paddayi
Kachcha Limboo – Marathi
Marathi – Kachcha Limbo
Malayalam – Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyumm

Kannada – Hebettu Ramakka
Hindi – Newton
Bengali – Mayurakshi

Assamese – Ishu
Telugu – Ghazi
Gujarati – Dhh

Best Action Direction: Baahubali: The Conclusion

Best Choreography: Ganesh Acharya, Gori Tu Lath Mar, Toilet Ek Prem Katha

Best Special Effects: Baahubali: The Conclusion

Special Jury Award: Nagar Kirtan, Bengali film

Best Lyrics: Muthurathinam

Best Music Direction: AR Rahman, Katru Veliyidayi

Best Make-up Artist: Ram Rajak, Nagar Kirtan

Best Costume: Gobinda Mandal, Nagar Kirtan

Best Production Design: Santosh Rajan, Take Off

Best Editing: Rima Das, Village Rockstar

Best Sound Design: Walking With The Wind

Best Audiography (Location Sound): Mallika Das, Village Rockstar

Best Location Sound Recordist: Mallika Das, Village Rockstar

Best Screenplay Original: Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum

Best Screenplay Adapted: Bhayanakam

Best Cinematography: Bhayanakam

Best Female Playback Singer: Sasha Thirupati, Vaan, Kaatru Veliyidayi

Best Male Playback Singer: Yesudas, Poemaranyakalam

Best Child Artist: Anita Das, Village Rockstar

Best Actress: Sridevi, Mom

Best Actor: Riddhi Sen, Nagar Kirtan

Best Children’s Film: Morkhya

Best Film on Environmental Conservation: Irada

Best Direction: Jayaraj for Bhayanakam

Best Feature Film on National Integration: Marathi, Dhappa

Best Feature Film: Village Rockstar

Best Debut Film of a Director: Sinjar

Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment: Baahubali 2

Dadasaheb Phalke Award: Vinod Khanna (Posthumous)

ALSO READ: Hello Hall of Fame Awards 2018: Shah Rukh, Deepika, Ranveer steal the limelight at the awards show

, , ,

About Manish Sharma

Of course! A writer. Check out my latest blogs here. Would love to hear your opinions and reviews in the comment box below.
View all posts by Manish Sharma →